Cell Phone Scam

I got a text awhile ago that said: “You have been selected to receive a FREE Best Buy gift card. Just go to www.myfreeoffersite.com/bestbuy within 48 hours to claim your gift.”

Of course it’s fake. Although Best Buy might contract with an outside company to handle prizes, it wouldn’t be from www.myfreeoffersite.com. I looked it up later to find that it’s completely fake. That URL actually redirects you to a different site that has to do with prize-winning/gambling or something. I didn’t look into it much further. It’s obviously a big scam.

Be careful! This stuff can be very easy to fall into if you’re not thinking about the logistics of the situation.

Stay safe!

-RED 7

Share via email
Share on Tumblr

Forums Coming Soon!

Status

Just to let you all know, we may soon be adding forums to the Northwest Tech Experience website. This would allow our users to discuss technology with others more freely.

We’ll let you all know when they are up and running!

-RED 7

Share via email
Share on Tumblr