Cell Phone Scam

I got a text awhile ago that said: “You have been selected to receive a FREE Best Buy gift card. Just go to www.myfreeoffersite.com/bestbuy within 48 hours to claim your gift.”

Of course it’s fake. Although Best Buy might contract with an outside company to handle prizes, it wouldn’t be from www.myfreeoffersite.com. I looked it up later to find that it’s completely fake. That URL actually redirects you to a different site that has to do with prize-winning/gambling or something. I didn’t look into it much further. It’s obviously a big scam.

Be careful! This stuff can be very easy to fall into if you’re not thinking about the logistics of the situation.

Stay safe!

-RED 7

Share via email
Share on Tumblr
This entry was posted in RED 7's Blog and tagged , by RED 7. Bookmark the permalink.

About RED 7

My (internet) name is RED 7. I enjoy a variety of “techie” stuff. I like learning about internet security, computer hardware, micro-controllers, (a little) programming, music, etc. I really like energy conservation and micro-electronics. I co-run NWTeche.com with Stephen Johnson. I also offer tech support for friends and family.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>